Terror in the woods (incomplete)

“Penny! Where are you? Come back please. I’m sorry, it was a joke!” Me and my friends were camping out for the weekend in the forest, and it was the first time for my girlfriend. It was usually the three of us, me, Jack, 

and Jenny. But today was supposed to be different, this was the first times had confined my girlfriend, Penny 

to come along. 

I know right? So weird, Jenny, my sister, and Penny, my girlfriend. 

I loved the smell of the wet ground and trees. It’s just something about the freedom and the freshness that gets

to me. I just can’t help it, I would take my chance to camp out, any excuse.

Living in the city, crawling through the streets at a snail’s pace, putting up with the noise, that just wasn’t living. 

Well anyway, it had taken ages for the four of us to gather enough firewood to build a small, fire to keep us 

warm throughout the fire, and just like anyone would, we started telling scary stories through the night.

Because my sister and I had been doing this so much more than the others, we had many horrifying stories 

stored up over the years. My favourite was the one where four best friends camping out over night slowly start 

disappearing without anyone knowing who or what was taking them. 

Before long, we got to one we had heard so many times over the years, the hunt for the witch man. It was said 

that in the 1700s he was head of the witch hunters committee but that then one day as he accused a witch and

burnt her, she managed to curse him just before she died. That he would forever be on he hunt for witches, 

even after his body cripples and weakens, he would live on, hunting for witches but never being able to kill 

them. It’s said the he still roams these forests looking for unaware witches and locking them away in his secret 

dungeon. 

At those times people were suspected of being witches if they had shoulder length black hair and noses longer

than average. 

Funnily enough, we always changed the story, depending on who we were trying to scare. For example, that 

day I’d matched Penny’s description to the witches.

Once I finished telling she story we all looked to see how Penny was coping with the story. I knew that Penny 

was very aware of having a slightly abnormal nose and the length of her black hair. I just hoped that she 

actually listened properly to what I said. She does have low concentration, especially when it comes to 

listening to someone telling a story.   

It seems she was listening because her wides were pretty wide, or well, wider than usual when hanging out 

with us.

Jack just looked at Penny and solemnly nodded, trying to keep the straightest face, as he said to Penny, “You 

know it’s true right, there have been sightings of a crippled old man walking around these areas muttering 

about must find witch.” 

Oh man, I was so close to passing out from holding in my laughter. This was working out perfectly! She was 

hooked on like a fish on well, a hook.

“Well, I think that’s enough nightmares for one night.” And with that, we all crawled back into the two tents. I 

was sharing with Penny (of course), and Jack was sharing with Jenny(I think they really like each other but are

trying to keep it secret, meh, who am I to intrude? As long as he doesn’t hurt her…)

I didn’t ate me long to fall asleep, after all, if there as a competition for allying asleep on time, I think I would be

world champion. Without even opening my eyes… (Hah, see what I did there?)

Sometime in the night, I felt an empty space to my right, a cold daft had blown in through e gap in the tent. Oh 

no, Penny! 

I jumped out the tent, not caring that I didn’t have a short on in this cold, and ran across to my friend’s tent and 

shook them awake. They were cuddled up. Ugh, but I pushed that thought aside as I was more worried about 

Penny. 

“Guys! Wake up. Jenny! Jack! I can’t find Penny!” That’s all it took for them to wake up. Both were startled by 

finding me in their tent. They looked sheepishly at me, with pink faces, embarrassed at being caught.

“We’ll talk about this later. But first, Penny.” 

Leave a Reply

