What do I do now? Jamie Shen

What do I do now?
Where can I go now?
How can I go now?

I am weary to my stone heart,
Broken to my spent soul,
I wish for tears to prove I live,
And warmth to show me love.

Sad eyes that burn black,
And nothing touches them now.
Tired eyes like spent coal,
And nothing touches them now.
Memories too painful to remember,
and too painful to forget,
and nothing touches them now.

Empty eyes, closed without closing, reflecting the pale moon,
Nothing can touch them now.

And on a cheerier note, two metapoems

This is how the hummingbird’s wings
Flutter and buzz; never stop, never die,
This is how the quick mind sings,
scratch, flourish; never stop, never die.

This is what – brings down kings,
Preaching change, preaching change,
This is what – the ink lips fling
To the page, to the page.

This is what – creates all things,
This is what – sad thoughts bring,
In my head – these bells ring,
Never stop, never die.

“T’is no ordeal!” said the poet,
voice high and indignant,”T’is a sudden burst of warmth,
coursing through the veins,
a quick breath of golden dust,
that stirs the mind from slumber
and quickens the hand,
words like thunder.”

2 thoughts on “What do I do now? Jamie Shen”

Leave a Reply

